The Irish Association of Change Ringers

125 years ringing in Ireland

January 2024

December 30, 2023

Happy New Year to all Members and Visitors to the Irish Association Website.

It was with sadness that Maud Lindsay, from Holy Trinity Drumbo died on 25th December 2023, her Obituary which, was a “Tribute to Maud” was read at Maud’s Funeral on 29th December 2023 by Don McLean and Robert Foulis, written by son’s Christopher and Rodger Linsday can be found  here

The Web site committee will meet on Wednesday,  31st January 2024. Please share any upcoming tower or district dates that  you wish to be publicised to – webmaster@bellringingireland.org

To repeat the oft-make request – the website is “by ringers, for ringers” and to assist keep it relevant, it is beholding on all ringers to feed any and all relevant tidings – diary dates, venues, changes to tower or district committees, nuptials, obituaries, special ringing occasions, links to local newspaper or other media coverage and so on – to the web committee. Thank you.

Association and District Practices Events 2024:

Northern District Practice – Saturday 13th January 2024 Patterson Cup,  St Thomas Belfast– 14.00 – 17.00

Northern District Practice – Saturday 3rd February 2024 –  St Mark Dundela – 14.00 – 17.00

The Boyne Cup – Saturday 3rd February 2024 – St Peter’s, Drogheda – 14.00

Executive Council Meeting – Saturday 17th February 2024 – 11.00 – online Zoom – invitation will be issued to all executive members by General Secretary.

Northern District Practice –Saturday 2nd March 2024 – Carrickfergus St Nicholas  – 18:30 till 20:45

IACR Southern District AGM and RR Cherry Cup – Saturday 23rd March. Venue is Skibbereen

IACR Northern District AGM and Cunningham Cup Competition – Monday 1st April 2024 – St Donard’s, Belfast, meeting 11am, Church Service and Competition 14.00

Northern District Practice – Saturday 6th April 2024 – Rostrevor St Bronach – 14.00 – 17.00

Northern District Practice – Saturday 4th May 2024 – Londonderry St Columb’s Cathedral – 14.00 – 17.00

IACR Annual General Meeting – Saturday 25th May 2024 – 11.00 – Northern District location to be confirmed

Murphy Cup Competition – Saturday 25th May 2024 – 14.00hrs – Northern District location to be confirmed

Northern District Practice – Saturday 1st June 2024 – Greyabbey St Saviour – 14.00 – 17.00

Northern District Practice – Saturday 7th September 2024 – Enniskillen St Macartin’s Cathedral  – 14.00 – 17.00

Northern District Practice – Saturday 28th September 2024 – Kilmood St Mary  – Iveagh cup – 14.00

Northern District Practice – Saturday 5th October 2024 – Bangor St Comgall   – 14.00 – 17.00

Assocaition Ringing Festival – Saturday 26th October 2024 – Southern District – details to follow

Northern District Practice – Saturday 2nd November 2024 – Drumbo Holy Trinity    – 14.00 – 17.00

Northern District Practice – Saturday 7th December 2024 – Hillsborough St Malachy     – 14.00 – 17.00